Collateral Murder

April 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

I have been somewhat hesitant to weigh in on this particular issue simply because I wasn’t sure I how to properly digest the video and related-commentaries.  However, with my gut more settled, I have to say that I think the military personnel involved acted in a completely appropriate & defensible manner.  The 7-9 individuals first gunned down by the aircraft were armed with assault weapons and, I believe, a RPG. Plus, these guys were acting suspiciously enough in a warzone to be considered legitimate targets.

Then, I see what I consider to be excessive force (though still within the ROE) being used by the pilots as they attack the minivan, driver and passengers.  This action struck me as unnecessary and indefensible in the taking of innocent life by our military.

War is awful. I wonder how awful these wars are making us.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Collateral Murder at fatbugZEN.

meta

